Join the Catholic Advocacy Network

Join other Catholics who advocate social reform and participate in the Tennessee Legislative process. Sign up and receive (during session) a weekly report on critical legislation. You will also receive "Action Alerts!"—a call-to-action on issues that affect our community and state.

Want to sample before you sign? Good idea. Check out our pubs, chalked full of crucial social issues—and the legislation that will impact them.

Jennifer Murphy |  JMurphy@tncppc.org  |  p 615.356.8184

Committees

Under the direction of our Board, Committees, and Tennessee's three bishops, the Tennessee Catholic Public Policy Commission will:​

  • Review and analyze the content and implications of all proposed legislation,

  • Take positions on public policies and programs affecting the common good of all Tennessee citizens,

  • Speak for the Roman Catholic Church before all branches of our state government and before groups concerned with social policy,

  • Identify needs in areas of morality, health, welfare, education, religious freedom, human and civil rights, and determine ways to meet those needs, and

  • Foster public understanding of the Church's teaching on social issues.

The TNCPPC board and committees are made up of clergy and lay persons selected from through out the state.

Communications Committee

Rick Musacchio 
Director of Communications and Editor in Chief of Tennessee Register

Diocese of Nashville 
rick.musacchio@dioceseofnashville.com
615-783-0768 

Jim Wogan  

Director of Communications, Knoxville Diocese 

Diocese of Knoxville  

jwogan@dioknox.org
865-862-5746

 

Education Committee

Janet Donato
Superintendent of Catholic Schools 

Diocese of Memphis
Janet.donato@cc.cdom.org
901-373-1219

Rebecca Hammel
Superintendent of Nashville Catholic Diocese Schools

Diocese of Nashville

Rebecca.Hammel@dioceseofnashville.com

615-540-1256

Sedonna Prater

Director of Curriculum and instruction , Catholic Schools 

Diocese of Knoxville

sprater@dioknox.org

865-862-5762

Health Committee

Alma Abuelouf

Director of Community Health

Diocese of Memphis

Alma.abuelouf@cc.cdom.org

901-373-1224

Renee Hamilton

Diocese of Knoxville

arewethereyet@tds.net

Sister Mariana Koonce, MD
Director of St. Mary’s Legacy Clinic

Diocese of Knoxville
Srmariana@dioknox.org
865-862-5760

Greg Pope
Chief Mission Integration Officer / St.Thomas Health | Ascension

Diocese of Nashville
gpope@ascension.org
615-284-7415

Human Services Committee

Lisa Healy
Executive Director of Catholic Charities of East TN

Diocese of Knoxville 

LHealy@ccetn.org
865-524-9896


Judy Orr
Executive Director of Catholic Charities of TN

Diocese of Nashville

jkorr@cctenn.org

615-352-3087

May 1, 2019

Marc Schurger
Eastman Kodak -retired
Former Catholic Charities of East TN board

Diocese of Knoxville
mschurger@gmail.com  

423-323-0499  
June 30, 2021

Legal Committee

Carleton Butch Bryant

Special Counsel, Knoxville Sheriff’s Department

Diocese of Knoxville
carleton.bryant@knoxsheriff.org

865-633-7086

Gino  Marchetti
Attorney

Diocese of Nashville 
gmarchetti@tpmblaw.com
615-320-3225

Edward Phillips
Attorney

Diocese of Knoxville
ephillips@kramer-rayson.com
856-525-5134

Social Justice Committee

Therese Gustaitis

Peace and Justice Parish Ministry-Director

Diocese of Memphis

Therese.gustaitis@acc.cdom.org

901-722-4694

Patty Johnson

Past President Of National Council Of Catholic Women, Nurse

Diocese of Knoxville

pattyjnccw@frontier.com

931-484-5587

Paul Simoneau
Vice Chancellor of Knoxville Diocese

Diocese of Knoxville 
psimoneau@dioknox.org
865-862-5753

Deacon Hans Toecker
Chancellor of Nashville Diocese

Diocese of Nashville 
Hans.toecker@dioceseofnashville.com

615-783-0765