Join the Catholic Advocacy Network

Join other Catholics who advocate social reform and participate in the Tennessee Legislative process. Sign up and receive (during session) a weekly report on critical legislation. You will also receive "Action Alerts!"—a call-to-action on issues that affect our community and state.

Want to sample before you sign? Good idea. Check out our pubs, chalked full of crucial social issues—and the legislation that will impact them.

Jennifer Murphy |  JMurphy@tncppc.org  |  p 615.356.8184

Board of Directors

Under the direction of our Board, Committees, and Tennessee's three bishops, the Tennessee Catholic Public Policy Commission will:​

  • Review and analyze the content and implications of all proposed legislation,

  • Take positions on public policies and programs affecting the common good of all Tennessee citizens,

  • Speak for the Roman Catholic Church before all branches of our state government and before groups concerned with social policy,

  • Identify needs in areas of morality, health, welfare, education, religious freedom, human and civil rights, and determine ways to meet those needs, and

  • Foster public understanding of the Church's teaching on social issues.

The TNCPPC board and committees are made up of clergy and lay persons selected from through out the state

Chairmen and Director

Bishop David P. Talley, M.S.W., J.C.D.
Diocese of Memphis
margaret.scott@cc.cdom.org
901-373-1217

 

Bishop Richard Stika

Diocese of Knoxville

phumphreys@dioknox.org

865-862-5723

Bishop Mark Spalding
Diocese of Nashville
bishop.mark.spalding@dioceseofnashville.com

615-383-6393

Jennifer Murphy

TNCPPC Executive Director

jmurphy@tncppc.org

615-356-8184

Board Members

Diocese of Memphis

 

Alma Abuelouf 
Director of Community Health 
Alma.abuelouf@cc.cdom.org

901-373-1224

June 30 , 2022

Janet Donato 
Superintendent of Memphis Diocesan Schools
Janet.donato@cc.cdom.org
901-373-1219

Therese Gustaitis 
Peace and Justice Parish Ministry-Director
Therese.gustaitis@acc.cdom.org
901-722-4694

June 30 , 2022


Diocese of Knoxville

 

Father David Boettner 

Vicar General

dboettner@dioknox.org

865-862-5722

June 30, 2021

Edward Phillips 

Attorney for Knoxville Diocese 

ephillips@kramer-rayson.com

856-525-5134

Paul Simoneau 
Vice Chancellor of Knoxville Diocese
psimoneau@dioknox.org
865-862-5753

June 30, 2022

Deacon Sean K. Smith 

Chancellor of Knoxville Diocese

ssmith@dioknox.org

865-862-5729

June 30, 2022

Very Reverend Douglas Owens, VG 

Moderator of the Curia 

fatherdougowens@gmail.com  
865-531-0770
June 30 2022 

 

Diocese of Nashville 

Brian L. Cooper 
Chief Administrative Officer and Vice Chancellor of Nashville Diocese
brian.cooper@dioceseofnashville.com
615-783-0759

June 30, 2022 

 

Rebecca Hammel 

Superintendent of Nashville Catholic Diocese Schools

Rebecca.Hammel@dioceseofnashville.com

615-540-1256

Gino Marchetti 

Attorney for Nashville Diocese 

gmarchetti@tpmblaw.com

615-320-3225

Rick Musacchio 
Director of Communications and Editor in Chief of Tennessee Register
rick.musacchio@dioceseofnashville.com
615-783-0768 

 

Judy Orr

Executive Director of Catholic Charities of TN

jkorr@cctenn.org

615-352-3087

May 1, 2019

 

Greg Pope
Chief Mission Integration Officer for St.Thomas Health | Ascension
gpope@ascension.org
615-284-7415
June 30, 2022

Deacon Hans Toecker
Chancellor of Nashville Diocese

Hans.toecker@dioceseofnashville.com

615-783-0765

June 30,2022